Nie Xiaoqian


Series: Graded Readers for Chinese Language Learners (Folktales)

Regular price $11.95

The book Nie Xiaoqian tells the love story between the ghost maiden Nie Xiaoqian and the young scholar Ning Caichen. In the story, Nie Xiaoqian died at the age of 18 and became a ghost who was forced by a vampire to hurt people. She was saved by Ning Caichen and brought to his home. The two of them got married and shared a happy life together. Later when the vampire came to their door, they killed it with the help of a swordsman called Yan Chixia.
The “Folktales” series includes 10 stories, hence 10 books, adapted from folk legends, each book written in 20,000-30,000 Chinese characters. The titles of the 10 books are Hua Mulan, Lady White Snake, The Cow Herder and the Weaver Girl, A Golden Millet Dream, Chang’e Flying to the Moon, The Old Man under the Moon, The Butterfly Lovers, Nie Xiaoqian, Chen Shimei, and Beauty from the Painting.
Language: Simplified Chinese
Number of Pages: 90
Author: 陈贤纯 Xian Chun Chen
Publisher: 北京语言大学出版社 Beijing Language and Culture University Press
Reading Level: 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th
Text Type: Narrative Fiction
Genre: Fairy Tales
Book Type: Graded Readers