Lady White Snake


Series: Graded Readers for Chinese Language Learners (Folktales)

Regular price $11.95

In the book Lady White Snake, a man called Xu Xian saved a white snake in one of his former lives. Two thousand years had passed and the white snake cultivated itself into the form of a young lady and called herself Bai Suzhen. Bai Suzhen found Xu Xian in this life and they fell in love. To fight against the monk Fahai who tried every means to destroy her relation with Xu Xian, Bai Suzhen made a big mistake by drowning the Jinshan Temple. After giving birth to a son, she was put into prison under the Leifeng Pagoda.
The “Folktales” series includes 10 stories, hence 10 books, adapted from folk legends, each book written in 20,000-30,000 Chinese characters. The titles of the 10 books are Hua Mulan, Lady White Snake, The Cow Herder and the Weaver Girl, A Golden Millet Dream, Chang’e Flying to the Moon, The Old Man under the Moon, The Butterfly Lovers, Nie Xiaoqian, Chen Shimei, and Beauty from the Painting.
Language: Simplified Chinese
Number of Pages: 90
Author: 陈贤纯 Xian Chun Chen
Publisher: 北京语言大学出版社 Beijing Language and Culture University Press
Reading Level: 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th
Text Type: Narrative Fiction
Genre: Fairy Tales
Book Type: Graded Readers