The Old Man under the Moon


Series: Graded Readers for Chinese Language Learners (Folktales)

Regular price $9.99

The book The Old Man under the Moon tells the story of how Yue Lao, the god of love, arranges marriages for young people. Once there was a young man who wanted to marry early, but failed to do so after many attempts. He was frustrated and didn’t know why. One night he met an old man, who told him that all marriages were destined and two people could become a couple only when their feet were tied by the same invisible red thread. The old man also told him that his future wife was only three years old at that time and wouldn’t marry him until fourteen years later. The young man didn’t believe him and tried to kill that three-year-old girl. But no matter how hard he tried, it ended up as the old man said.


The “Folktales” series includes 10 stories, hence 10 books, adapted from folk legends, each book written in 20,000-30,000 Chinese characters. The titles of the 10 books are Hua Mulan, Lady White Snake, The Cow Herder and the Weaver Girl, A Golden Millet Dream, Chang’e Flying to the Moon, The Old Man under the Moon, The Butterfly Lovers, Nie Xiaoqian, Chen Shimei, and Beauty from the Painting.

Language: Simplified Chinese
Number of Pages: 90
Author: 陈贤纯 Xian Chun Chen
Publisher: 北京语言大学出版社 Beijing Language and Culture University Press
Reading Level: 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th
Text Type: Narrative Fiction
Genre: Fairy Tales
Book Type: Graded Readers