The Butterfly Lovers


Series: Graded Readers for Chinese Language Learners (Folktales)

Regular price $11.95

In the book The Butterfly Lovers, a girl called Zhu Yingtai persuaded his parents and disguised herself as a boy to pursue studies in Hangzhou. On the way to Hangzhou, she met her future classmate Liang Shanbo. They became friends immediately. During the following three years of studying together, the two of them built a very close relationship. Zhu fell in love with Liang, but her father was determined to marry her to another man called Ma Wencai. Eventually the lovelorn Liang died of depression and Zhu was so sad that she jumped into Liang’s tomb on her way to Ma’s home. The two lovers turned into butterflies and flied away.
The “Folktales” series includes 10 stories, hence 10 books, adapted from folk legends, each book written in 20,000-30,000 Chinese characters. The titles of the 10 books are Hua Mulan, Lady White Snake, The Cow Herder and the Weaver Girl, A Golden Millet Dream, Chang’e Flying to the Moon, The Old Man under the Moon, The Butterfly Lovers, Nie Xiaoqian, Chen Shimei, and Beauty from the Painting.
Language: Simplified Chinese
Number of Pages: 90
Author: 陈贤纯 Xian Chun Chen
Publisher: 北京语言大学出版社 Beijing Language and Culture University Press
Reading Level: 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th
Text Type: Narrative Fiction
Genre: Fairy Tales
Book Type: Graded Readers