Hua Mulan


Series: Graded Readers for Chinese Language Learners (Folktales)

Regular price $11.95

The book Hua Mulan tells the story of a girl called Hua Mulan joining the army instead of her father. When a war broke out at the border, Hua Mulan’s father was summoned to the army. But he was old and in poor health. Hua Mulan, who then just turned 18, decided to disguise herself as a man and join the army instead of her father. On the battlefield, she was brave and won a lot of battles. The enemy was defeated at last. After twelve years of life on the line, Hua Mulan eventually got back home.
The “Folktales” series includes 10 stories, hence 10 books, adapted from folk legends, each book written in 20,000-30,000 Chinese characters. The titles of the 10 books are Hua Mulan, Lady White Snake, The Cow Herder and the Weaver Girl, A Golden Millet Dream, Chang’e Flying to the Moon, The Old Man under the Moon, The Butterfly Lovers, Nie Xiaoqian, Chen Shimei, and Beauty from the Painting.
Language: Simplified Chinese
Number of Pages: 90
Author: 陈贤纯 Xian Chun Chen
Publisher: 北京语言大学出版社 Beijing Language and Culture University Press
Reading Level: 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th
Text Type: Narrative Fiction
Genre: Fairy Tales
Book Type: Graded Readers