Chen Shimei


Series: Graded Readers for Chinese Language Learners (Folktales)

Regular price $11.95

The book Chen Shimei tells the story of Chen Shimei and Qin Xianglian. In the story, Chen Shimei got first place in the imperial examination, and for the sake of wealth and high status, he abandoned his parents, wife and children and married the princess. His first wife Qin Xianglian came to the capital with their children looking for him. He refused to acknowledge them and even planned to kill them. Eventually, Bao Zheng, the governor of the City of Kaifeng, sentenced Chen Shimei to death penalty.


The “Folktales” series includes 10 stories, hence 10 books, adapted from folk legends, each book written in 20,000-30,000 Chinese characters. The titles of the 10 books are Hua Mulan, Lady White Snake, The Cow Herder and the Weaver Girl, A Golden Millet Dream, Chang’e Flying to the Moon, The Old Man under the Moon, The Butterfly Lovers, Nie Xiaoqian, Chen Shimei, and Beauty from the Painting.

Language: Simplified Chinese
Number of Pages: 90
Author: 陈贤纯 Xian Chun Chen
Publisher: 北京语言大学出版社 Beijing Language and Culture University Press
Reading Level: 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th
Text Type: Narrative Fiction
Genre: Fairy Tales
Book Type: Graded Readers