A Golden Millet Dream


Series: Graded Readers for Chinese Language Learners (Folktales)

Regular price $11.95

The book A Golden Millet Dream tells the story about a young man who dreamt to be a wealthy, high-ranking official. In the story, a young scholar felt it sucked to live in poverty and wished to become a wealthy, powerful, high-ranking official. One day, he met an old man in an inn, who gave him a pillow and asked him to sleep a little while. The young man fell asleep and had a dream in which he experienced the life of a high official. After he woke up, he realized what the most important thing in life was.


The “Folktales” series includes 10 stories, hence 10 books, adapted from folk legends, each book written in 20,000-30,000 Chinese characters. The titles of the 10 books are Hua Mulan, Lady White Snake, The Cow Herder and the Weaver Girl, A Golden Millet Dream, Chang’e Flying to the Moon, The Old Man under the Moon, The Butterfly Lovers, Nie Xiaoqian, Chen Shimei, and Beauty from the Painting.

Language: Simplified Chinese
Number of Pages: 90
Author: 陈贤纯 Xian Chun Chen
Publisher: 北京语言大学出版社 Beijing Language and Culture University Press
Reading Level: 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th
Text Type: Narrative Fiction
Genre: Fairy Tales
Book Type: Graded Readers